CVE-2026-6553: Cms backend · TYPO3 CMS Stores Cleartext Password in User Settings Module
Affects typo3/cms-backendSource GCVE Database
Not known to be exploited · CVSS 7.3 High : upgrade to 14.3.0 soon.
Data as of 27 Oct 2026, 00:07 UTC
- Patch
- Available – fixed in 14.3.0
CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:P/PR:N/UI:P/VC:H/VI:N/VA:N/SC:H/SI:H/SA:HExploitation evidence
Disclosed: evidence found.
CVE published 21 Apr 2026
Detectable: no evidence on record.
No public nuclei template indexed
Weaponised: no evidence on record.
No public exploit code indexed in Metasploit or Exploit-DB
Exploited in the wildExploited: no evidence on record.
Not in CISA KEV and no source reports exploitation
Observed by OffSeq MirageSeen by Mirage: no evidence on record.
No attack traffic recorded by OffSeq Mirage sensors
A missing step is not evidence of safety. Sources: cve.org (opens in a new tab), the Metasploit, Exploit-DB and nuclei-templates index as of 26 Oct 2026.
What to do
Upgrade typo3/cms-backend to 14.3.0.
Affected software
| Product | Affected | Fixed in |
|---|---|---|
| Packagisttypo3/cms-backend | Affected
| Fixed in
|
Check your own hosts for these packages with threat-finder (opens in a new tab), our free open-source scanner.
Description
### Problem The backend user settings module (`SetupModuleController`) incorrectly conflates entity data (like passwords or email address) with user-interface settings (like theme, display options) when persisting changes. As a result, passwords were stored in cleartext in the `uc` and `user_settings` fields of the `be_users` database table. The cleartext data was only persisted if users changed their credentials in the backend user settings module when the TYPO3 14.2.0 release was used (not in any other version). ### Solution Update to TYPO3 version 14.3.0 LTS which fixes the problem described. > [!IMPORTANT] > **Manual actions required** > > Updating to the patched release does not retroactively clean existing data. It is recommended to execute all User Settings upgrade wizards in the TYPO3 Install Tool, including the dedicated User Settings Scrubbing wizard, which sanitizes the incorrectly persisted cleartext values from the `uc` and `user_settings` fields of the `be_users` table. **Additionally, affected backend user accounts should be assigned new passwords.** > > _Admin Tools → Upgrade → Upgrade Wizard → User Settings Scrubbing_ ### Credits TYPO3 thanks Martin Clewing for reporting this issue, and TYPO3 core team members Oliver Hader, Stefan Bürk and Garvin Hicking for fixing it.
References
- github.com/TYPO3/typo3/security/advisories/GHSA-xvv6-p4wf-mvx7 (opens in a new tab)
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-6553 (opens in a new tab)
- github.com/TYPO3/typo3/commit/9a6e913f70767f63b322ae3e2d2f4e302624c291 (opens in a new tab)
- github.com/TYPO3/typo3 (opens in a new tab)
- typo3.org/security/advisory/typo3-core-sa-2026-005 (opens in a new tab)